Local Government Mayoral Taskforce supporting People Seeking Asylum Minutes – Executive Meeting No. 26 – Friday 21 April 2023

10am-12pm via Microsoft Teams

Chairperson: Cr Rhonda Garad (Greater Dandenong Council (CGD))

Attendees:

Pradeep Peteti (Casey), Peter Johnstone (CGD), Ann Ly (CGD), Mayor Cr Hadi Saab (Kingston), Tracey Collins (Kingston), Amey Rountree (Monash), Mayor Cr Angelica Panopoulos (Merri-bek), Petr Svoboda (Merri-bek), Sandra Khazam (Port Phillip), Mary-Ann Robinson (Brimbank), Dave Hamra (Wyndham), Loretta Bellato (Moonee Valley), Mayor Cr Julie Williams (Darebin) and Shabaz Fattah (Darebin).

Apologies:

Mayor Eden Foster (CGD), Hedeeyeh Saberian (Mornington Peninsula), Chris Munro (Mornington Peninsula), Cr Susanne Newton (Darebin), Cr Gaetano Greco (Darebin), Susan Quach (Kingston), Cr Steve Staikos (Kingston), Emma Sampson (Merri-bek), Cr Mark Riley (Merri-bek), Nelum Buddhadasa (Merri-bek), Cr Anab Mohamud (Yarra), Cristina Del Frate (Yarra), Tara Bewley (Yarra), Mayor Cr Joseph Haweii (Hume), Celia Chang (Hume), Julie Andrews (Hume), Geoff Paine (Nillumbik), Cr Jennie Barrera (Wyndham), Dalal Sleiman (Whittlesea), Mayor Cr Bruce Lancashire (Brimbank), Cr Jasmine Nguyen (Brimbank), Wambui Thirimu (Brimbank), Lynley Dumble (Brimbank), Courtney Boi (Casey), Teresa Lawler (Casey), Sadia Ali (Casey), Calum Pattie (Casey), Cr Brian Little (Monash), Colin Bostock (Monash), Mayor Cr Des Hudson (Ballarat), Frances Salenga (Ballarat), Nikki Williams (Bendigo), Mayor Cr Andrea Metcalf (Bendigo), Lisa King (Banyule), Cr Peter Castaldo (Banyule), Mayor Cr Tammy Radford (Cardinia), Mayor Cr Sarah Carter (Maribyrnong), Catherine Dwyer (Maribyrnong), Cr Dr Olivia Ball (Melbourne), Kara Barnett (Melbourne), Lord Mayor Sally Capp (Melbourne), Deputy Lord Mayor Nicolas Reece (Melbourne), Councillor Roshena Campbell (Melbourne), Cr Jason Chang (Melbourne), Cr Elizabeth Mary Doidge (Melbourne), Cr Davydd Griffiths (Melbourne), Cr Jamal Hakim (Melbourne), Cr Philip Le Liu (Melbourne), Cr Rohan Leppert (Melbourne), Cr Kevin Louey (Melbourne), Mayor Cr Ben Ramcharan (Nillumbik), April Wilson (Nillumbik), Garry Starr (Canterbury Bankstown), Cr Jim Mason (Geelong), Jane Wager (Geelong), Dom Diocera (Geelong), Mayor Cr Mark Lane (Whitehorse), Debbie Seddon (Whitehorse), Mayor Cr Heather Cunsolo (Port Phillip), Sally Abbott (Moonee Valley), Celia Rice (Moonee Valley), Cr Rose Iser (Moonee Valley), Meghan Hopper (Moonee Valley), Mayor Cr Rob Steane (Maroondah), Chris Riseley (Maroondah), Mayor Cr Isabelle Tolhurst (Queenscliffe), Mayor Cr Ian Bye (Wellington), Mayor Cr Tony Briffa (Hobsons Bay), Ben Pollard (Hobsons Bay), and Cr Jonat

Guests: Holly Corpe (Cumberland), Claire Galvin (Mildura) and Saajeda Samaa (Asylum Seeker Resource Centre).

Agenda Item	Action
1. Welcome and Introductions We acknowledge the Traditional Owners and Custodians of this land, the Bunurong People, and pay respects to their Elders past, present and emerging. We recognise and respect their continuing connections to climate, Culture and Country and we also pay our respects and acknowledge all Aboriginal peoples and their Elders present here today, in acknowledging their journey.	
 Endorsement of Minutes of Previous Meeting Endorsed by Mayor Cr Angelica Panopoulous (Merri-bek). 	

Agenda Item	Action
 Mayoral Taskforce Terms of Reference and Membership Structure Endorsement Feedback on the Mayoral Taskforce Supporting People Seeking Asylum Terms of Reference was discussed by attendees and incorporated into the document. The Terms of Reference was endorsed by consensus. Member Councils indicated their preferences on Taskforce Membership fee options and consensus was made on Option 3, with Executive Members (\$5000), General (\$500), Supporter (\$0) and Councillors Friends (\$0). Concern was expressed on barriers regarding Option 2 where Supporter Councils are required to pay a membership fee and that this may be a disincentive to entry membership with increased administration resourcing to facilitate 	All Member Councils to confirm their Taskforce membership with CGD by the next meeting.
4. Taskforce Actions for 2023 ALGA National General Assembly 13-16 June 2023 CGD enquired the availability of an exhibition booth at ALGA - the booth package costs \$4600 for a 3mx3m booth for four days (Tuesday – Friday) during ALGA. Due to costs and resourcing for a staff to attend and manage the stall, members decided not to hire the exhibition booth. Taskforce representatives will host a morning tea, as done in 2022, at the National General Assembly. Member Councils agreed that the morning tea would be more cost-effective for members to network and promote the Taskforce to potential new members. Targeted invites will be sent out and all members attending ALGA are invited to attend. An information pack including postcards to be prepared for the morning tea. Taskforce representatives will form a Delegation to attend meetings with MPs in Canberra – a list of MPs to be collated by Member Councils and invites to be sent out. Membership recruitment process Interstate delegation(s) – identify interstate Councils e.g. in New South Wales, Queensland and Western Australia, to engage with.	An invite to be sent to Member Councils to host the morning tea at ALGA and join the ALGA Delegation – CGD.
 Refugee Sponsorship Proposal by The Rural Australians for Refugees Afghanistan Sub Committee Consensus by attendees that a Letter of Support to be sent on behalf of the Taskforce from the Taskforce Chair. 	A letter of support will be sent from the Mayoral Taskforce – CGD.
6. Next Meeting Friday 26 May 2023, 1-3pm, MS Teams Future 2023 meeting dates to be set in the next meeting.	
7. Close	