Local Government Mayoral Taskforce supporting People Seeking Asylum Minutes – Executive Meeting No. 27 – Friday 26 May 2023

1pm-3pm via Microsoft Teams

Chairperson: Mayor Cr Eden Foster (Greater Dandenong Council (CGD))

Invitees: All members

Attendees: Mayor Cr Angelica Panopoulos (Merri-bek), Petr Svoboda (Merri-bek), Mayor Cr Hadi Saab (Kingston), Mayor Cr Julie Williams (Darebin), Deputy Mayor Cr Susanne Newton (Darebin), Cr Sarah Race (Mornington Peninsula), Cr Anab Mohamud (Yarra), Deputy Mayor Cr Nicky Luo (Monash), Pradeep Peteti (Casey), Peter Johnstone (CGD), Amani Nyikang (Yarra), Suzanne Bray (Kingston), John Drennan (Ballarat), Amey Roundtree (Monash), Kathie Duncan (Darebin), Ben Pollard (Hobsons Bay), Wambui Thirimu (Brimbank)

Apologies: Cr Dr Olivia Ball (Melbourne), Hedeeyeh Saberian (Mornington Peninsula), Chris Munro (Mornington Peninsula), Cr Gaetano Greco (Darebin), Susan Quach (Kingston), Emma Sampson (Merri-bek), Cr Mark Riley (Merri-bek), Nelum Buddhadasa (Merri-bek), Cristina Del Frate (Yarra), Tara Bewley (Yarra), Mayor Cr Joseph Haweii (Hume), Celia Chang (Hume), Julie Andrews (Hume), Geoff Paine (Nillumbik), Cr Jennie Barrera (Wyndham), Dalal Sleiman (Whittlesea), Sana Saiyed (Whittlesea) Mayor Cr Joseph Haweii (Hume), Celia Chang (Hume), Julie Andrews (Hume), Lynley Dumble (Brimbank), Courtney Boi (Casey), Teresa Lawler (Casey), Sadia Ali (Casey), Calum Pattie (Casey), Cr Brian Little (Monash), Colin Bostock (Monash), Mayor Cr Des Hudson (Ballarat), Frances Salenga (Ballarat), Nikki Williams (Bendigo), Mayor Cr Andrea Metcalf (Bendigo), Lisa King (Banyule), Cr Peter Castaldo (Banyule), Mayor Cr Tammy Radford (Cardinia), Mayor Cr Sarah Carter (Maribyrnong), Catherine Dwyer (Maribyrnong), Kara Barnett (Melbourne), Lord Mayor Salug Capp (Melbourne), Deputy Lord Mayor Nicolas Reece (Melbourne), Cr Roshena Campbell (Melbourne), Cr Jason Chang (Melbourne), Cr Elizabeth Mary Doidge (Melbourne), Cr Davydd Griffiths (Melbourne), Cr Jamal Hakim (Melbourne), Cr Philip Le Liu (Melbourne), Cr Roshan Leppert (Melbourne), Cr Kevin Louey (Melbourne), Mayor Cr Ben Ramcharan (Nillumbik), April Wilson (Nillumbik), Garry Starr (Canterbury Bankstown), Cr Bial El-Hayek (Canterbury Bankstown) Cr Jim Mason (Geelong), Jane Wager (Geelong), Mayor Cr Mark Lane (Whitehorse), Debbie Seddon (Whitehorse), Mayor Cr Heather Cunsolo (Port Phillip), Sally Abbott (Moonee Valley), Cr Jennifer Anderson (Macedon Ranges), Mayor Cr Annette Death (Macedon Ranges), Mayor Cr Rob Steane (Maroondah), Chris Riseley (Maroondah), Mayor Cr Isabelle Tolhurst (Queenscliffe), Mayor Cr Ian Bye (Wellington), Mayor Cr Tony Briffa (Hobsons Bay), and Cr Jonathon Marsden (Hobsons Bay) Shabaz .

Attachments: Mayoral Taskforce - Meeting No. 26 – Minutes, Taskforce Delegation June 2023 – Meeting Invitations Sent

Agenda Item	Action	
1. Welcome, Acknowledgement of Country and Introductions	Chair	
2. Endorsement of Minutes of Previous Meeting	Approved by consensus	
 Review of Outstanding Action Items Taskforce membership - outcome on request for member councils to confirm Document of agreed membership fee and confirmed status shared on screen. Confirmed Councils marked in green. Representatives from: City of Hume, City of Darebin, Hobsons Bay City Council, City of Ballarat Council will confirm status (and corresponding contribution) within the following week. Secretariat officer to correspond directly with other member council representatives not present and confirm status. 	Taskforce secretariat officer to finalise confirmation of outstanding notifications as soon as possible.	

Agenda Item		Action	
•	 Update interstate membership recruitment – report from Chair Blacktown Council Update – a report to be submitted by Mayor Cr Tony Bleasdale to their Council recommending endorsement to join Taskforce as an Executive Member ALGWA conference – Canterbury/Bankstown as a potential member NOM Template created to make formal process of joining taskforce easier for Councils to submit Report from Mayor Cr Hadi Saab re his meetings with other NSW councils Cumberland City Council supportive of Taskforce – new TOR shared with them for consideration around membership. Question around an operational Taskforce that some NSW Councils are involved with supporting people seeking asylum and this to be clarified. Membership to be encouraged. Minister Andrew Giles is one of their MP's. City of Parramatta to be followed up. 	Taskforce Chair to follow up with Canterbury/Bankstown new mayor re taskforce Executive membership. Mayor Cr Hadi Saab is available to assist. Secretariat officers to liaise with Mayor Cr Hadi Saab re follow up of these councils. Mayor Cr Hadi to share further info re NSW operational Taskforce for further clarification.	
•	 ALGA morning tea arrangements – confirmed Wednesday 14 June 10:30am Torren Room Mayor Cr Eden to take the lead in speaking at the morning tea, Mayor Cr Hadi Saab to support Other members encouraged to invite other councils to the morning team A5 flyers to be handed out on the Tuesday 13 June during regional conference breaks advertising for the morning tea the following day. Also handed out during Metro breaks. Regional Refugee Welcome Zone councils to be contacted to arrange a Monday 12 June meeting with Mayor Cr Hadi to discuss membership 	Mayor Cr, Eden Foster, Cr Rhonda Garad, Mayor Cr Hadi Saab, Cr Steve Staikos, Cr Sarah Race to support handing out flyers. Secretariat officers to liaise with Kingston Advocacy Lead to assist arranging meetings.	
•	 MP/Ministerial meetings in Canberra – six meetings arranged 2 x Wed 14 June, 4 x Thu 15 June a. 2 x lived experience attendees available and booked b. Delegate attendees and logistics - c. Support documentation – briefing notes/talking points 	Delegates as per Meeting Invitation Sent Document Secretariat to obtain final confirmation by COB Friday 2 June from TBC delegates. Secretariat to prepare briefing documents for delegates appropriate to the Minister/MP meeting and their scope of influence.	
•	Refugee Sponsorship Proposal – letter of support sent.	No further action required.	
4.	Other Business Suggestion for a Joint Statement from Taskforce Mayors - Mayor Cr Angelica Panopoulos - creation of a joint statement piece from Taskforce Mayors for promotion in and around Refugee Week. available for Mayors to reference during specific events that they attend and speak at Available for a Media Statement for Refugee Week Available for social media promotion for Councils 	Secretariat to draft Joint Statement from Mayors/Councillors and have available a week before Refugee Week. All Taskforce mayors and councillors to provide signatures for joint statement	
5.	Next Meeting Suggested date – Wednesday 28 June 2023, 1-3pm, MS Teams to be confirmed.	Chair	
6.	Close @ 2pm	Chair	