Children's Book Council of Australia Award Winners 2021

The winners of the 2021 Children’s Book Council of Australia (CBCA) Book of the Year Awards have been announced.

CBCA Book week runs until 28 August with the theme Old Worlds, New Worlds, Other Worlds.

The winning titles  in each category are:

Older readers: winner

The End of the World is Bigger than Love  - Davina Bell

Younger readers: winner

Aster’s Good, Right Things  - Kate Gordon

Early childhood: winner

No! Never!  - Libby Hathorn & Lisa Hathorn-Jarman, illustrated by Mel Pearce

Picture books: winner

How to Make a Bird  - Meg McKinlay, illustrated by Matt Ottley)

Eve Pownall Award for information books: winner

Dry to Dry: The Seasons of Kakadu  - Pamela Freeman, illustrated by Liz Anelli

CBCA Award for new illustrators: winner

This Small Blue Dot  - Zeno Sworder

For more information about the CBCA Award winners and Honour Books, see the CBCA website.


How to make a bird by Meg McKinlay
0 reactions