Literary Award Winners 2022

Literary Award Winners 2022

Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIA)

Each year the awards celebrate the achievement of authors, publishers and booksellers in bringing Australian books to readers. The awards are voted on by an academy of Industry professionals and a judging panel.  Some of the winners of the 2022 awards are:

Book of the Year and Literary Fiction Book of the Year - Love and Virtue by Diana Reid

General Non Fiction Book of the Year - She's On the Money by Victoria Devine 

Matt Richell Award for New Writer of the Year - The Mother Wound by Amani Haydar

Biography Book of the Year - My Adventurous Life by Dick Smith 

General Fiction Book of the Year - Before You Knew My Name by Jacqueline Bublitz

Find a full list of the ABIA awards at  ABIA Awards 2022

Love and Virtue by Diana Reid


The Australian/Vogel's Literary Award

The Australian/Vogel's Literary Award has been won by Nell Pierce for her novel A Place Near Eden.

‘Part absorbing mystery, part riveting family drama, A Place Near Eden explores themes of truth and memory. The question of how we can know the truth of our own lives troubles Matilda as she looks back on her time with her foster brother, Sem, remembering him disappearing for hours, then days, and then a car coming to take Sem away. Five years later, Matilda lives in Melbourne with her mother and Sem is now a memory she has locked away, until, at a party, she reconnects with childhood neighbour Celeste and then with Sem.

The Australian/Vogel's Literary Award is one of Australia's richest and the most prestigious award for an unpublished manuscript by a writer under the age of thirty-five. Offering prize money of $20,000 plus publication by Allen & Unwin, The Australian/Vogel's Literary Award has launched the careers of some of Australia's most successful writers, including Tim Winton, Kate Grenville and Gillian Mears.

A Place near Eden by Nell Pierce


The International Dublin Literary Award

The International Dublin Literary Award has been won by The Art of Losing by Alice Zeniter, translated by Frank Wynne 
Established in 1994, the International Dublin Literary Award is considered one of the world’s wealthiest awards for literature with a prize money of €100,000. The award is given to a novel written or translated into English. Interestingly, the nominations are made by public libraries from across the world and both authors and translators are eligible for the award. 

The Art of Losing spans across three generations, three wars, two continents, and the mythic waters of the Mediterranean, and uncovers one family's history which  leads to an inevitable question: What price do our descendants pay for the choices that we make?

"Naïma knows Algeria only by the artifacts she encounters in her grandparents' tiny apartment in Normandy: the language her grandmother speaks but Naïma can't understand, the food her grandmother cooks, and the precious things her grandmother carried when they fled. Naïma's father claims to remember nothing; he has made himself French. Her grandfather died before he could tell her his side of the story. But now Naïma will travel to Algeria to see for herself what was left behind - including their secrets."

The Art of Losing by Alice Zeniter


The Pultizer Prize for Fiction

The Pultizer Prize for Fiction has been won by The Netanyahus: An Account of a Minor and Ultimately Even Negligible Episode in the History of a Very Famous Family, by Joshua Cohen

The Pulitzer prize is awarded annually for distinguished fiction by an American author, preferably dealing with American life.  The book is described as "a linguistically deft historical novel about the ambiguities of the Jewish-American experience, presenting ideas and disputes as volatile as its tightly-wound plot."

Netanyahus by Joshua Cohen


The International Booker Prize

The International Booker Prize for translated works has been won by Tomb of Sand written by Geetanjali Shree and translated from Hindi by Daisy Rockwell.

Tomb of Sand is the first book originally written in any Indian language to win the International Booker Prize, and the first novel translated from Hindi to be recognised by the award. 

Set in Northern India, the novel follows the adventures of an 80-year-old woman who unexpectedly gains a new, and highly unconventional, lease of life. 


Tomb of Sand by Geetanjali Shree
1 reaction