Winner of The Booker Prize 2021

Damon Galgut has been awarded the 2021 Booker Prize for his novel The Promise.

The novel is set near Pretoria, South Africa, and tells the story of three siblings who lose touch after the death of their matriarch. Over the next three decades, they are brought together again by three additional funerals, and along the way they reflect on the resentments and hopes of their home country as the former apartheid state evolves.

The Promise is Galgut’s ninth novel and his first in seven years; his debut was published when he was just seventeen. It’s third time lucky for Galgut after being shortlisted for the prize in 2003 and 2010.

Other titles shortlisted for The Booker Prize were: 

Bewilderment by Richard Powers
A Passage North by Anuk Arudpragasam,
No One Is Talking About This by Patricia Lockwood 
The Fortune Men by Nadifa Mohamed
Great Circle by Maggie Shipstead

You can read more on The Booker Prize website.


The Promise by Damon Galgut
0 reactions