toddler with Australian flag tattoo on his cheek

2017 Australia Day Awards

Congratulations to the winners of the 2017 City of Greater Dandenong’s Australia Day Awards. The winners were recognised for their service to our community in a special ceremony at Dandenong Park as part of the Australia Day Festival.

  • Citizen of the Year - Yvonne Smith
  • Young Leader of the Year - joint winners Angela Beveridge and Deng Yong Deng
  • Volunteer of the Year - Celine Tauro
  • Leadership Award - Jo Raphael
  • Multicultural Award - Atiq Abed
  • Sports Person of the Year - Sophie Molineux
  • Corporate Citizen of the Year - Ronald Anson
  • Community Hall of Fame Award - Vajira Ekanayake
  • Sports Hall of Fame Award - Ross Hepburn
Angela participated in the Young Leaders Program and has gone on to become a program mentor for other Young Leaders.
Atiq works actively within the local community to support stronger communities and social inclusion.
Celine has been a volunteer tutor with the Too Low in English program organised through St Mary’s parish in Dandenong for 13 ye
David Willersdorf is a highly-respected member of Greater Dandenong’s business community whose philanthropic support of local c
Deng has assisted other young people through The Weekend Academy (an activities program for South Sudanese youth), the Bounce B
Jo has been involved with Fusion Theatre since 1997.
Ronald is the owner and operator of the Norden Group – a transport and automotive business based in Dandenong.
Ross has dedicated many years of community involvement towards his passion for cricket. Ross is a life
Sophie plays women’s cricket at local, state and international level and has been selected for the inaugural women’s Big Bash L
Vajira is a very worthy recipient of the Community Hall of Fame Award. He has dedicated himself to helping others ove
Yvonne is a Noble Park resident who is a long term volunteer contributor to the Country Women’s Association, Noble Park RSL, Th