2019 Short Cuts

Short Cuts Film Festival

The Greater Dandenong Short Cuts Film Festival returned for its fourth year in 2019

Short Cuts celebrated art, community and storytelling by providing an artistic platform for local community members, emerging artists and accomplished professionals from across the globe to share their stories.

Films were across the following three categories:

  • Emerging – current or recent film graduates with less than five years’ experience
  • Community/Student – primary and secondary students and people with no professional filmmaking training
  • Open – professional film makers




Short Cuts Film and Winners 2019

The successful films and winners from 2019 are listed below:

Mayoral Prize ($3,000)
Film: A Rare Breed
Director: Thomas José Field

Mayoral Runner Up Prize ($750)
Film: Kaya
Director: Stephanie Westwood

People's Choice ($500)
Film: A Rare Breed
Director: Thomas José Field

Winner Open Category ($250)
Film: Lost and Found
Director: Lucy Hayes

Winner Open Category ($250)
Film: Still Alive
Director: Dennis Tupicoff

Winner Emerging Category ($250)
Film: Drowned
Director: Peyam Shadniya

Winner Community/Student Category ($250)
Film: Courier from Kibou Town
Director: Calvin David

Short Cuts Films and Winners 2018

In its third year, the sold out crowd enjoyed 18 films from all over the over the world and a behind the scenes look at the making of All these Creatures, which won the Short Film Palme d’Or at the Cannes Film Festival. Screening of the Short Cuts Film Festival took place at the Drum Theatre on Saturday 23 June.

Short Cuts offered prizes across three categories, including Student/Community, Emerging and Open, plus a Mayoral Prize and a People’s Choice Award.

The successful films and winners from 2018 are listed below:

Mayoral Prize
Locker Room by Greta Nash

Mayoral Prize Runner-up
After All by Michael Cusack

Open Category
Lost Property Office by Daniel Agdag

Emerging Category
Sandy Mayflower’s 80 Ways by Ella Sowinska

Community/Student Category
Exist by Payam Shadniya

People’s Choice Award
Closing the Caravan by Chris Franklin

Short Cuts Film and Winners 2017

The successful films and winners from 2017 are listed below:

Winner,  Mayoral Prize
David Hansen - Slingshot

Runner-Up, Mayoral Prize
Xin Li - The Autumn

Winner, People’s Choice Prize
Michael Raso - Solitude

Winner, Emerging Category
Jem Rankin - Cherokee

Winner, Student/community Category
Tilly Hobkirk - For Isabelle

Winner, Open Film-maker Category
Paul Howell - Husk

Short Cuts Film Festival

Lonsdale Street 226, 3175 Dandenong AU, Australia